Inspiration

I was just flipping through Facebook and a girl I worked with posted Macklemore and Ryan Lewis’s performance of their song ‘Same Love’ and the VMAs. I want to share with you something that I find inspiring about Korea. Everyone holds hand, everyone sits close to each other, everyone can “cuddle”. There is no stigma attached. When we walk around it is very normal to see two girls holding hands or two guys because that is just comfortable. They are not partners and it falls no deeper than just the simple act of holding hands.

While on our field trip I had the joy of a group of 15 included 4 boys I have kicked out of my class a few times each. While we watched ‘Puss in Boots’ in between workshops (after lunch) the boys were all relaxing and like laying on each other. They can lay their head on someone leg or lean on each other and there is no one pointing and laughing, no one judging (although I was quite intrigued), and no reason to make a big deal out of it. I find this part about growing up in Korea to be beneficial to these children. They don’t know the hate and phobia many children growing up in the USA and other parts of the world share. This is something I hope to explain to my students one day. That just because people in the USA say its weird and should be looked at as inappropriate doesn’t mean they’re right.

My tidbit for the night.

P.S. Home from the hospital after another throat swelling reaction. Back in the morning for an allergy test….oh yeah its an hour away and the big university hospital and I have to go alone cause Chris needs to work!! Yup. Always adventures. (Suwon (Aju?) has English speaking doctors and nurses!!!!!!)

Leave a Reply

