Reach to Teach – I feel Just like Myth Busters!

 Today’s article is written for the Reach To Teach Teach Abroad Blog Carnival, a monthly series that focuses on providing helpful tips and advice to ESL teachers around the globe. I’ll be posting a new ESL related article on my blog on the 5th of every month. Check back for more articles, and if you’d like to contribute to next month’s Blog Carnival, please contact Dean at dean@reachtoteachrecruiting.com, and he will let you know how you can start participating!

Our topic this month is…. Teach Abroad Myths: What is one of the biggest myths you discovered while teaching abroad?

I have plenty of sarcastic remarks all with truth to them so before my real writing I am going to get them off my chest:

1. Not every website has an English button

2. Google Translate is SOOOO wrong  ^^especially when translating websites

3. You cannot find every type of food everywhere

4. Korean winter is NOT like living in Northern Russia … don’t be so wimpy people

5. Medicine really IS different

6. Trains and Buses are NOT faster or more comfortable

7. After seeing Asian drivers I can officially break the ‘Jersey drivers suck’ myth because these people are INSANE!

Okay I am done… so the real big myth buster…. sorry to break it to you but this is not “The best year of your life”. Okay right away I sound like the biggest downer and no I am not saying don’t do it! I have 0 regrets and I am happy we didn’t turn back when things got tough in the beginning. It is truly an amazing experience but it sure as heck is not the best year of my life. I went to a great college and have awesome friends and we have taken wonderful adventures so maybe my view is different. I think this has been the most influential year in my life and has really changed me and my outlook on things but I think that is very different than the ‘best’. Living abroad is a life experience that nothing else could teach you. This, here in Korea, is our new normal. We are used to waking up in out bed of two mattresses put together, cleaning always even though we are never in here is it still always dusty!, doing laundry and keeping our fingers crossed that it will dry and of course taking the crazy buses every where. So many advertisements and people you will try and convince you this is going to be the most exciting year and its actually a lot of hard work. We don’t go off traveling every weekend or jet setting across the Asian continent. We have been lucky enough to travel but often by the weekend we want to sit down and relax. Depending on your school you may have more time off but we work from from early lunch until way after dinner. We usually sleep, eat, work, eat and sleep. There are plenty of ways to make this an amazing year and it will always have an incredible influence on your life, your views and your strength but life is long (hopefully) and there are plenty more adventures out there to make your ‘best year’ my hopeless romantic self hopes it includes a family <3. J

2 thoughts on “Reach to Teach – I feel Just like Myth Busters!

  1. While I can somewhat agree with you (every year just gets better for me, I’m not sure how anyone chooses just one ‘best’?), I had such a fabulous time abroad that it would be hard not to be up at the top of the list. However, I completely agree that it’s not all easy, and nobody should go into this thinking it will be. Facing challenges, and overcoming them, is part of the process, and it’s so much more rewarding that way!

  2. Interesting take on this…it just proves that every persons experience is unique. Moving to Korea was probably the best decision I’ve ever made in my life. Sure there were ups and downs but it opened doors and led me to do things I otherwise wouldn’t have seen or done. I hope you enjoy yoyr last fee months there.

Leave a Reply

