Reach To Teach Blog Carnival – April

Hello all!

I said a few entries ago (and every since then) that Chris and I would be hosting this month’s Reach to Teach Blog Carnival! I have 5 wonderful entries and links to their blogs so you can read along!

Here are the articles written for the Reach to Teach Blog Carnival, a monthly series that focuses on providing helpful tips and advice to ESL teachers around the globe. The host for this month is us!, here you can find other similar articles. I’ll be posting a new ESL related article to this blog on the 5th of every month. Check back for more articles, and if you’d like to contribute to next month’s Blog Carnival, please get in touch with Dean at dean@reachtoteachrecruiting.com, and he’ll let you know how you can start participating!

Vanessa Long

6 Ways to Stay Motivated in the Classroom

Both teachers and students can get burned out in the classroom. Here are six things you can do to fight the monotony of the school day.

After 26 years in Texas, I decided to take a huge leap and move to South Korea to teach English for a year.  As the time zoomed by, I quickly realized that one year just wasn’t enough time to spend in Asia. This is my blog about my experience teaching and travelling!

Rebecca Thering

Staying Motivated to Teach

While teaching burn-out has been unavoidable for me, there are a few things I’ve been doing to speed up recharge periods and stay motivated to teach.

I’m a Wisconsin-native currently teaching English at a rural elementary school in South Korea.  My Spanish skills aren’t quite as useful here as they were when I lived in Madrid, which is where my Spanish nickname Rebe (Ray-bay) stuck.  I have an itch to travel, craft, learn, and read – and to make the world a better place!

Sarah Steinmetz

Staying Motivated

This month’s topic couldn’t come at a more appropriate time.  Two months into the semester I think just about every teacher in Korea is struggling to stay motivated in the classroom.  Although all teachers deal  with the mental and emotional exhaustion that comes with working in education, there are three main things that I think are essential for staying passionate about teaching.

I am a New Hampshire native and a proud graduate of the University of New Hampshire. After teaching at a high school in New Hampshire for a year, I decided to leave my life behind and move to South Korea.  I am currently teaching at a High School in Mungyeong, South Korea with amazing co-workers and students alike. I am currently enjoying the challenges, surprises, and lessons that come with living abroad, and I couldn’t be happier about my decision to move to Korea!

Jamie Phillips

Insidious Beasts

It’s happened. Your give-a-damn is broken. You are burnt out, frazzled, bored but too tired to do anything about it, succumbed to ennui like a disillusioned rock star. So what to do?The terrible ennui beast comes calling for a reason. And actually, he’s not so terrible. He’s got your best interests at heart. He’s telling you to stop and re-calibrate.

I am blessed with itchy feet… and I follow them! A few years ago, I packed up, sold, and redistributed all of my non-essential belongings, crammed my life into a backpack and wandered aimlessly into the world. I’ve backpacked through South America, worked in Australia’s outback, and eaten my way through South East Asia. For my next adventure (and 30th birthday!), I’m doing a trek for charity in Kyrgyzstan. http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/jamiemphillips/karakolhike
Lisa Vinish
 “In this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes.”  True, but Benjamin Franklin forgot one thing: Teacher burnout.  Even teachers who consistently are on top of their game and make the profession look easy eventually feel the mental drain of burnout.  However, there are some strategies that teachers can utilize to prevent themselves from burning out.  In this blog post I’ll share five that have worked for me.
My name is Lisa Vinish and I’m a 20-something Canadian with a passion for education and travel.  My first international trip was to Kenya in 2008 and I’ve been traveling non-stop ever since.  In 2010 a combination of disillusionment with academia and an overwhelming urge to travel again led me to abandon my graduate studies and move to Asia.  This continent has been the greatest love affair of my life.  Currently, I live in Pohang, South Korea and teach at a small private kindergarten.
Dean Barnes
This month I have provided you with 3 main things I feel can affect your feelings towards teaching and suggestions regarding how to change these feelings. Being burnt out can happen to any of us, but if you don’t like something, change it!
Just don’t give up.
My name is Dean, I have been traveling for around 2 and a half years now with a small stint back in my home country. I’m from the UK and I began my teaching career on the island of Bali. I then made the move to Taiwan where I currently reside. Here I have the joy to fulfill my passion for writing by providing ESL/travel related articles to the Reach To Teach website.
One thought on “Reach To Teach Blog Carnival – April

Leave a Reply

